What is the Council?

Holme Valley Parish Council is the first tier of local government covering the administrative area of the Holme Valley. It serves a population of nearly 30,000 in the towns and villages of Holmfirth, Honley, Brockholes, Cinderhills, Hade Edge, Hepworth, Hinchliffe Mill, Holmbridge, Holme, Jackson Bridge, Netherthong, New Mill, Scholes, Thongsbridge, Upperthong and Wooldale.

As Holme Valley Parish Council covers quite a large civil parish, it is divided into parish wards, with separate elections for each ward. Councillors are elected representatives, often living in the village or locality they represent.

The Council’s main aim is to improve the quality of life of the residents of the Holme Valley. It works in partnership with many organisations to promote the Valley to make it a thriving place to live, work and play in, as well as an attractive area to visit.


At Full Council on 1st February, 2021, Holme Valley Parish Council agreed to adopt five strategic priorities which will guide all activities undertaken by the Parish Council in the future. These were all put in place to help the Council support our local community, economy and environment to the best of its ability. 

The Council's Strategic Priorities to support our local community, economy and environment are:


These five priorities are summarised in the Holme Valley Parish Council Strategic Priorities document, and more background is provided in the Detailed Paper approved by Full Council on 1st February 2021.