New Holme Valley Parish Council Chair and Vice Chair Elected for 2024-25

Published: 16 May 2024

At the Annual Council meeting of Holme Valley Parish Council on 13 May 2024 Cllr Pat Colling (Ward Councillor for Honley Central and East) was elected Chair and Cllr Tom Dixon (Ward Councillor for Hepworth) was elected Vice Chair for the 2024-25 Council Year.

The Annual Council meeting is where the Parish Council sets out the year ahead by electing the Council Chair, and Vice Chair along with Committee memberships and Chairs. Members also welcomed the new Councillor for Upper Holme Valley, Cllr Hugh Osborne following his election on 2 May 2024.

On accepting the role of HVPC Chair Cllr Colling said "It’s a great honour to be elected Chair of HVPC. Under Cllr. Blacka the new council’s committees have increased what we do for the valley and I intend to continue this trend. I am eager to build our relationships with neighbouring Town and Parish Councils, particularly those within Kirklees, so we can share our knowledge and best practice. I am particularly looking forward to meeting more people around the valley"

Other appointments during the evening were:

Cllr Andy Wilson, Chair of the Finance and Management Committee.
Cllr Mary Blacka, Chair of the Planning Committee.
Cllr Lawrence Baylin, Chair of the Service Provision Committee.
Cllr Sarah Whitelaw, Chair of the Climate Action, Communications and Engagement Committee.
Cllr Tom Dixon, Chair of the Staffing Committee